Thursday, February 6, 2014

ISA5 Spotlight #1: Nominee Reaction - Carolyn Hennesy, Sebastian La Cause, Michael Caruso, Jillian Clare, Caitlynne Medrek, Armando Saldanamora, Kelsey Jorissen & Mike Donis

Nominees for the 5th Annual Indie Series Awards were revealed in a special episode of We Love Soaps TV on Wednesday. (You can find a complete list of nominees here.) The ISAs celebrate the best in independently produced, scripted entertainment created for the Web.

The 5th Annual ISAs will take place on April 2 at the historic El Portal Theatre in North Hollywood, hosted by Carolyn Hennesy. Over the next two months, We Love Soaps will put the "Spotlight" on the nominated series, as well as the nominees in front of and behind the camera. Check out our first Spotlight feature below which includes reactions from Michael Caruso, Sebastian La Cause, Jillian Clare, Caitlynne Medrek, Armando Saldanamora, Kelsey Jorissen and Mike Donis.

ISA5 host and Single Siblings guest star Carolyn Hennesy:
The fact that my time on the Single Siblings set was one of the happiest work days in many moons for me is truly the cake. The nomination is the icing, the sprinkles and the delightful butter-cream rosettes all rolled into one. A sublime experience all around. So many thanks Meryl Hathaway, Chris Alvarado and my "hubs" Jim O'Heir! Excelsior!

Hustling producer/director/writer/actor Sebastian La Cause:
The support and recognition of Hustling by the ISAs is overwhelming and incredibly joyful. It's extremely motivating and will continue to inspire me well beyond the ceremony.

DeVanity producer/writer/actor Michael Caruso:
The cast and crew of DeVanity are so incredibly honored to be recognized alongside so many other series we love and respect. This is an exciting time for web series, and we are thrilled to be returning to the ISAs for the third year in a row.

Clutch actress Jillian Clare:
So excited to be nominated for Clutch. It was one of my favorite shoots ever. Can't wait for April 2nd!

Out With Dad actress Caitlynne Medrek:
"I couldn't be more thrilled to be joining the insane cluster of ISA5 nominees. There is nothing better then being nominated long side those you look up to and admire. Plus being nominated amongst friends makes for one hell of a party!! Can't wait for the ISAs!!! LA STYLE!!! Thank you for the nomination! I am so honored!"

Progress writer/producer Armando Saldanamora:
I heard the news and I thought "I'm dreaming. I'm gonna open my eyes and I'll be in Buckingham Palace without any pants on." Turns out I wasn't dreaming, I wasn't in Buckingham Palace -- and the fact that I didn't have any pants on in public was just a coincidence. In all seriousness though, all of us at the production are so grateful for these ISA nominations and feel so honored to be nominated among so many amazing series! Thank you!

The Dreamers writer/director/actress Kelsey Jorissen:
"I am honored to be nominated for Best Writing for The Dreamers. As a Chicago female filmmaker I am forever grateful to the Indie Series Awards for creating avenues to get our work seen, supported, and shared. I also couldn't be prouder of the cast of The Dreamers for their nomination for Best Ensemble. Without their trust, time, and unbelievable talent this series would not be possible. Here's to living the dream!"

Pete Winning and The Pirates producer/director/actor Mike Donis:
For for nominee reactions, be sure to follow us on Twitter (@ISAwards) and follow hashtag #ISA5.


  1. I'm so honored that my series, "Dating In The Middle Ages," got three nominations. It's a little comedy with heart that's never been nominated for anything - this is the first. Thank you so much, guys. From the bottom of my heart…@imdevinmills

  2. All of us at Thurston are so honored to be nominated! And we are thrill to be along side such great shows! So looking forward to seeing everyone in LA!

  3. We are so honored that our little webseries, "Split," is being recognized at the Indie Series Awards - and that our lead actress Lisa Roumain's amazing work is being noticed. Thank you and can't wait until the ceremony - April 2nd!