Wednesday, December 4, 2013

41st Annual Daytime Emmy Awards Now Taking Submissions, Voting Will Take Place Completely Online

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) today announced that entries for the 41st Annual Daytime Emmy Awards are now being accepted and that submissions are open in all 81 Daytime categories. In addition, registration is open for all qualified judges to evaluate entries.

“With six Daytime Dramas in contention this year, we are thrilled to open the gates for what we expect to be a record year in all Daytime Emmy Award genres,” said Malachy Wienges, Chairman, NATAS. “In addition to adding three new Spanish-language categories, we are implementing a brand new entry/judging system that will allow entrants quick and easy submissions and judges the ability to evaluate nominees at work, at home and just about everywhere else!”

For the first time, the Daytime Emmy Awards contest will be completely online. Using the services of Yangaroo, Inc., an industry recognized awards-program provider to organizations such as the Grammys and MTV Video Awards, all entries will be uploaded right from the entrant’s desktop and all viewing and voting done online. “The industry has been asking for the convenience of online participation for some time,” said David Michaels, Senior Executive Director, Daytime Emmy Awards. “With the addition of this new program and new categories, I believe we will have an overflow of entrants and judges eager to participate.”

The Daytime Emmy Awards recognize outstanding achievement in Daytime programming broadcast between the hours of 2 a.m. and 6 p.m., by conferring annual awards of merit in various categories. The presentation of these awards is intended to be an incentive for the continued pursuit of excellence. Eligible programs must have originally aired between January 1, 2013 and December 31, 2013.

In addition, NATS is offering two deadlines: the new “early deadline” provides entrants a lower fee if they submit by December 20, 2013. The final deadline for all submissions is January 17, 2014.

Judges of entries to the 41st Annual Daytime Emmy Awards must be qualified as a peer in their craft and active members in either NATAS or ATAS (Academy of Television Arts & Sciences). Complete rules can be found at where a link to the Yangaroo entry portal can be found.

No comments:

Post a Comment