Monday, September 16, 2013

65th Primetime Emmy Awards Telecast to Feature Special in Memoriam Tributes

This year's Primetime Emmy Awards will feature the traditional "In Memoriam" segment that has become an industry award show staple, and in addition, the telecast producers have selected five individuals who warrant special recognition. To honor them, close friends and co-workers have been invited to provide personal tributes which will be presented during the ceremony, held at the Nokia Theatre L.A. LIVE in Los Angeles and telecast live on Sunday, Sept. 22, (8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT) on CBS.

Those who will provide special tributes include Edie Falco, who will remember SOPRANOS co-star James Gandolfini; Michael J. Fox, who will pay tribute to FAMILY TIES producer Gary David Goldberg; Jane Lynch will remember her friend and GLEE co-star Cory Monteith; Rob Reiner will pay tribute to his long-time ALL IN THE FAMILY cast member Jean Stapleton; and Robin Williams will remember his friend and mentor Jonathan Winters (MORK AND MINDY).

DALLAS legend Larry Hagman presumably will be included in the regular "In Memoriam" segment.

"The 'In Memoriam' is a very emotional and evocative segment for the Emmys, or any annual awards program," said Executive Producer Ken Ehrlich. "These five individuals brought us such great entertainment and joy, so having their close friends share personal remembrances is something that will be very meaningful for television audiences across the country and across the generations. And our traditional 'In Memoriam' segment will be presented in a unique new format that will give added importance to an already much anticipated segment of the Emmy show."

Ehrlich was one of the first producers to enhance the "In Memoriam" feature when he added a live musical component during the Grammys 10 years ago. Following the traditional remembrance segment, he produced a live performance of The Clash's "London Calling" with Bruce Springsteen, Elvis Costello, Dave Grohl and others in tribute to Joe Strummer, who died earlier that year.

The 65th Emmy Awards are executive produced by Ken Ehrlich. Neil Patrick Harris is both host and producer, and the telecast is directed by Louis J. Horvitz for AEG Ehrlich Ventures, LLC in association with the Television Academy.

No comments:

Post a Comment