Monday, November 10, 2008

AMC's Judy Blye Wilson Wins Artios Award

The Casting Society of America has announced the winners of its 2008 Artios Awards for outstanding achievement in casting, which were presented at coast-to-coast ceremonies on Monday, November 10. Julie Halston was Mistress of Ceremonies at the New York ceremony at Caroline's on Broadway.

As previously announced, Thomas Schumacher, President of Disney Theatrical Group, was the recipient of the "New York Apple Award." Additional New York winners included Bernard Telsey /Will Cantler for "The Homecoming" (Broadway Theater - Drama); Jim Carnahan, "Boeing-Boeing" (Broadway Theater - Comedy); Bernard Telsey/Bethany Knox, "In the Heights" (Broadway Theater - Musical); James Calleri, "The Seagull" (Off Broadway - Comedy/Drama/Musical); Will Cantler/Bernard Telsey, "33 Variations" (Regional Theater L.O.R.T.); and Judy Blye Wilson, ALL MY CHILDREN (Daytime Series).

Wilson has now won this award for six straight years. Has ALL MY CHILDREN really done the best job with daytime casting for the past seven years? Wilson has been nominated every year for this award since 1994 and won it a total of eleven times (10 of the last 14). She also won the Daytime Emmy for "Outstanding Achievement in Casting for a Drama Series" from 2002 to 2004.

Celebrity guest presenters in New York included Bryan Batt, Jason Biggs, Robert Buckley, Danny Burstein, Bobby Cannavale, Jennifer Ehle, John Gallagher Jr., Gavin Lee, Norm Lewis, Rebecca Luker, Jesse L. Martin, Alan Menken, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Gretchen Mol, James Naughton, Kristin Schall, Sherie Renee Scott, Paolo Szot, Michael Urie, Van Hansis, and Jake Silbermann.

In Los Angeles, where the ceremony was hosted by Neil Patrick Harris, the Career Achievement Award was presented to Craig Zadan and Neil Meron, and the Hoyt Bowers Award was presented to the late Mali Finn.

Other Los Angeles winners included Ellen Chenoweth and Jo Edna Boldin (location casting) for No Country for Old Men (Studio Feature-Drama); Mindy Marin, Coreen Mayres (location) and Heike Brandstatter (location) for Juno (Studio Feature-Comedy); Julie Tucker for DAMAGES (TV Drama); Meg Liberman, Cami Patton and Jennifer Lare for PUSHING DAISIES (TV Comedy); Beth Bowling and Kim Miscia for MAD MEN (TV Pilot, Drama); Meg Liberman and Cami Patton for PUSHING DAISIES (TV Pilot, Comedy); David Rubin, Richard Hicks and Lori S. Wyman (location), Kathleen Chopin (location) for Recount (TV Movie); and

No comments:

Post a Comment